I admire political professionals whose decisions are driven by facts and data. I aspire to be one.

There’s so much that I love about the Texas Gulf Coast–the cosmopolitan inner city, the unique suburbs flush with culture and character, the vibrant industry, the underappreciated natural beauty–I think I might just stay here for the rest of my life.

Therefore, my mission is clear: to use facts and data to contribute to the conversation about local politics. For my friends who have decisions to make about where to direct electoral resources and energy, which primary candidate to support, or simply what to expect from a seemingly-inscrutable political process, I want to be of service.

I have just as many unfounded opinions as the next guy, but I will do my best to keep them to myself.

One thing I shouldn’t keep to myself is the perspective and bias I bring to this blog. I want the Democratic Party to win, especially in legislative elections. I don’t always agree with the party line, but our electoral system kind of forces a choice between one of exactly two viable alternatives (it’s called Duverger’s Law, and I consider it to be a commandment for tactical voting.) That being said, I have worked fruitfully with many people from the other side of the aisle. Bipartisanship, comity, and genuine effort to understand other people’s ideas are not merely wise political principles, they are a precious and increasingly-rarefied virtue.

So here we go. I am enabling open comments for now. Please let me know what you think.

-NR

PS: You can learn more about me and my professional practice at bluefishtexas.squarespace.com.

Leave a Reply

